In New Jersey, the State Wage and Hour Law states that employees are required to receive overtime pay at a rate of time-and-a-half of their regular pay for each hour actually worked over 40 hours per week.
There are certain exceptions to this law, including salaried executives, professionals and administrators. Certain farm laborers, sales people and childcare workers are also among those exempt from the overtime law.
To be eligible for overtime pay, workers must actually work in excess of 40 hours in a seven-day week. Overtime pay for holidays and weekends is not required if those days fall within the 40-hour limit. Employees cannot waive their right to overtime pay without violating New Jersey’s Wage and Hour Law; employees can, however, be forced to work overtime provided they are paid extra for every hour over 40 hours per week.
Employers that fail to pay overtime to their qualified employees are subject to fines and/or administrative penalties.
Because there are exceptions to the State’s overtime payment law, you may need to utilize the services of an experienced employment attorney. If you believe you have been denied overtime payments, contact The Rotolo Law Firm for advice. Protect your rights. Call The Rotolo Law Firm today.